PERSONAL INJURY FAQ
How much compensation will I be able to recover?
The total amount of compensation depends on multiple factors. Some of these factors include medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and insurance.
After an accident (e.g., I was hit by a tractor trailer on I-20, I-85, or 285) what should I do?
First, receive medical care. Next, you should secure legal counsel right away.
How long do I have to file a lawsuit?
Typically, the State of Georgia provides two years from the date of your injury to file a lawsuit. After two years from the date of injury, you may be unable to pursue a claim.
Should I accept an offer from the insurance company?
No! Insurance companies will offer a low settlement. We can ensure that you receive a fair settlement.
What Is a Contingency Fee Arrangement?
Our clients often lack the money for upfront legal representation. Contingency fee arrangements allow clients to be represented without spending money out of pocket. We only get paid if you do, whether through a settlement or jury verdict.
CRMINAL DEFENSE FAQ
What is the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony?
In Georgia, the major difference between a misdemeanor and a felony is the seriousness of the alleged crime. A misdemeanor is generally a more minor offense than a felony.
What is a felony?
A felony in Georgia is as a crime that is punishable for 12 months or more, according to sentencing guidelines. Generally, felonies carry a punishment range of 1 to 20 years in prison. The most serious crimes, capital crimes (murder), carry a life sentence and can even carry the death penalty. A felony sentence is served in the state prison system.
What is a misdemeanor?
Misdemeanors in Georgia carry a maximum of 12 months in jail. Misdemeanors are categorized by the severity of the crime. Some are categorized as ‘High and Aggravated Misdemeanors.’ This type of misdemeanor carries heavier penalties, such as fines of up to $5000. Simple misdemeanors generally carry fines of up to $1000. Regardless of the category, misdemeanor sentences are served in local or county jails not in a state penitentiary.
What are the statute of limitations for felonies and misdemeanors?
Felonies committed against victims younger than 18 generally carry time limits of 7 years. For felony crimes committed against adults, the limits are 4 years. Misdemeanors generally carry limits of 2 years.